The deadline for submission of abstracts was 30 September 2021. Thank you to all abstract submitters!

Notfications for all abstracts will be sent out by email in January 2022.

ESSKA is proud to give the following awards to those who make significant contributions to research in degenerative joint diseases and orthopaedic sports medicine.


The deadline for entries was 28 November 2021. Thank you for all your applications and submissions!


Learn more about the awards categories here.

The winners will be notified by February 2022 and must be present during the Paris Congress to accept the award. Information on the timings and location of the ceremony will be sent to all winners.

If you have any questions regarding your submission please contact the ESSKA office at

Theo Van Rens Best Paper Award

This award is given to the best scientific presentation amongst the six highest ranked abstracts from the review process.

Rewards: €3,000 and additionally, the winning paper will be published in KSSTA

Sponsored by: ESSKA Foundation

Porto Award for Innovation in Arthroscopy

This award is given to stimulate research in arthroscopy and encourage practitioners to publicise their expertise. It recognises the excellence and innovation in arthroscopy.

Criteria: Open to anyone.
Award money: €1,000

Sponsored by: the City of Porto

Best Poster Award

This award is given to the best posters accepted and displayed at the Congress. The 10 categories are: Ankle, Knee Degenerative, Knee ACL, Knee Meniscus, Knee PCL/MCL/LCL, Hip/Groin, Muscle/Tendon, Shoulder, Elbow/Wrist, Cartilage, Basic Science.

Rewards: €250 each in 10 different categories

Sponsored by: ESSKA Foundation

Award for Best Paper in Ligament and Biomechanics

This award is given to the best paper about ligament healing and biomechanics in orthopaedic sports medicine. This award will be given to the recipient‘s institution to be used for research or education in this field. S&N has no influence on determining the winning recipient(s).

Criteria: Open to anyone.
Award money: €2,000

Sponsored by: Smith and Nephew

Basic Scientist Travel Grants

ESSKA supports basic scientists and provides financial support for four selected basic scientists enabling them to attend the 20th ESSKA Congress. Selection will be made by the Basic Science Committee of ESSKA based on the excellence of the basic science abstracts.

Rewards: €500 to cover travel and accommodation expenses to attend the Congress

Sponsored by: ESSKA Foundation

Young Researcher Award in Clinical Science

This award is given to the best paper about Knee Surgery, Sports Traumatology or Arthroscopy. Entrants must be under 40 years of age before submission.

Criteria: Open to anyone under 40.
Award money: €1,000

Sponsored by: ESSKA Foundation

ESSKA-ON Foundation Partnership Award: Best Abstract In Orthoregeneration

This award is given to the highest scored abstract in orthoregeneration reviewed by a selected jury.

Rewards: €2,000

Sponsored by: ESSKA-ON Foundation